Cool Throwback Photos of the underpass at Rt 11 and 250 in Staunton

In 1957, motorists at the intersection of routes 11 and 250 in #Staunton were greeted by an arched underpass, where the roads met the tracks of the C & O Railroad. It made for a unique, but awkward, entrance into the downtown area. The following year, Route 250 would be relocated and an adjacent underpass was constructed to allow for easier traffic flow on a wider, multi-lane Greenville Avenue. The site continues to provide a distinctive gateway into Staunton’s historic downtown. #TBT #VDOT

A post shared by VDOT (@virginiadot) on

Comments

title

Content Goes Here

This ad will close in X seconds.